Connect with us

Hi, what are you looking for?


Transition committee: Adamawa Assembly amend LGA law

Adamawa House of Assembly on Tuesday amended the Adamawa State Local Government Area Establishment and Administration Law. 4 of 2000.

The amendment had provided room for the state governor to appoint Transition Committees to run the affairs of the 21 Local Government Councils in the state, pending the conduct of election into the councils by Adamawa State Independent Electoral Commission (ADSIEC).

The tenure of elected local government chairmen and councillors in the state lapsed in August last year.

Passage of the amended bill which enjoyed accelerated hearing since it was tabled on Monday, followed a motion for its third reading and passage on Tuesday by the House Majority Leader, Alhaji Hammantukur Yettisuri seconded by Ms Kate Raymond representing Demsa Constituency.

The Speaker of the house, Alhaji Aminu Iya-Abbas, who presided over plenary, directed Clerk of the house to prepare a clean copy of the bill to be sent to the governor for assent.

The amended bill recommended six months tenure for transition committees of each of the 21 councils which could be renewed for another six months.

It also recommended that a transition committee of each council would be made up of a Chairman, Vice Chairman, Secretary, four Supervisory Councillors and a representative of each Ward including at least one woman.

The bill also made provisions for sacking of any council transition committee found wanting by the governor.

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You May Also Like

Copyright © 2021 The News Hawk. Designed by NINCHI Services Limited.

You cannot copy content of ...sorry about that