Connect with us

Hi, what are you looking for?


Mo Salah missing from PFA’s EPL team of the season

Liverpool and Manchester City players dominate Professional Footballers Association (PFA) 2018/19 season Team of the Year for England’s top flight.


Despite Liverpool’s strong presence, one of its top men, Mo Salah, is missing from the star-studded team of the year.


Both title-chasing teams are neck-to-neck at the top of the English Premier League standings– one point apart– in a season where they have blown away the chasing park, and it is no surprise that both clubs dominate this seasonal line-up.

Pep Guardiola’s masterful Man City team contributed six players, while Liverpool’s robust side coached by the energetic Jurgen Klopp contributed four players.

The only selected player not from either of these two crops is Manchester United’s erratic midfielder, Paul Pogba, a surprise inclusion.

Man City players are Ederson Moraes (Goalkeeper), Aymeric Laporte (Defender), Fernandinho (midfielder), Bernardo Silva (Attacking midfielder), Raheem Sterling (Winger) and Sergio Aguero (Striker) who retains his place from last season.

The four players selected from Liverpool includes defensive trio Virgil van Dijk, Andrew Robertson and Trent-Alexander Arnold, while Sadio Mane is the only Liverpool forward on the team.

This team includes some outstanding performers, including van Dijk who has helped Liverpool to 25 clean sheets this season; Mane who has outshone Mo’ Salah this season, a much-improved Sterling who has been involved- directly or indirectly- in 27 league goals, and EPL joint-top scorer with 19 goals, Sergio Aguero.

The yearly list, voted for by fellow professional players in the country, sees Man City providing the most players for the second successive season.



Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You May Also Like

Copyright © 2021 The News Hawk. Designed by NINCHI Services Limited.

You cannot copy content of ...sorry about that