Connect with us

Hi, what are you looking for?


BREAKING: Kano Assembly passes law for creation of 4 emirates

The Kano State House of Assembly on Wednesday passed a law establishing four additional emirates and four first class emirs in the state.


The law, initiated on Monday, passed first reading on Tuesday, and then scaled through second and third reading on Wednesday.


“There is no opposition in the House. Those against the law have walked out,” one of the members who preferred anonymity told our reporter.

“The governor wanted to whittle down the influence of Emir Sanusi, so he created the rival emirates and put them on the same level.”


The new law, seen by reporters, provides for rotational chairmanship of the state council of traditional rulers among the emirs.


According to the law, the emirates are Kano Emirate, Rano Emirate, Gaya Emirate, Karaye Emirate and Bichi Emirates.



Earlier today, the state governor, Abdullahi Ganduje, promised to assent the law as soon as it is presented to him.


Mr Ganduje stated this on Wednesday at a media briefing prior to the commencement of the 136th State Executive Council meeting, at the Council Chamber in Government House, Kano.


“We heard about a bill sent to the State House of Assembly, requesting them to make a law for the creation of four more Emirs in Kano.


“We believe the petitioners did it in good faith. And they want the development of the state.


“I hope the legislative arm would work on it and forward to me for assent, which I am ready to sign into law without any waste of time.


“That is the popular wish of our people. This will also go a long way in hastening growth and development in the state,” the governor added.

Emir of Kano now controls 8 LG district heads

Emir Muhammadu Sanusi II, will now have control of only 8 out of the 44 local government areas in the state, following creation of four new emirates with first class status by Kano State House of Assembly on Wednesday.


In the initial proposal, the Kano Emirate was allocated 10 local governments but when the House went into a committee of a whole, the local governments were reduced to eight.


The newly established emirates are Bichi, Rano, Gaya and Karaye.

According to the final amended copy law, Emir of Kano was allocated Kano Municipal, Tarauni, Dala, Nassarawa, Fagge, Gwale, Kumbotso and Ungogo Local Government Areas.


But Bichi Emirate, which is second in hierarchy, has nine local government areas of Bichi, Bagwai, Tsanyawa, Kunchi, Makoda, Danbatta, Dawakin Tofa, Tofa and Minjibir.


The third in hierarch, Rano Emirate, has 10 local government areas of Rano, Bunkure, Kibiya, Takai, Sumaila, Kura, Doguwa, Tudun Wada, Bebeji and Garun Malam.


Gaya Emirate also has under its control 10 local government areas of Gaya, Ajingi, Albasu, Wudil, Garko, Warawa, Gezawa, Gabasawa and Dawakin Kudu.


Like Kano Emirate, Karaye Emirate has eight local government areas under its control. They are: Karaye, Rogo, Gwarzo, Kabo, Rimin Gado, Madobi, Kiru and Shanono.


According to the Section 4(2) of the amended law, the chairman of the council of traditional rulers shall be rotational.


“Chairman of the Council shall be rotational whom shall serve for a period of 2 Years; sequence of which is to be determined by the Governor,” the law provided.


The new law also confers right on ruling dynasty of Kano Emirate, the Dabo clan, to become emirs in both Kano and Bichi Emirates.


“Nothing in this section shall preclude any District Head of Dabo Clan or the Emir of Bichi also as Dabo Clan from any of the emirates to contest for the Emir of Kano in event of vacancy so long as he is an heir to the throne,” the law prescribed.

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You May Also Like

Copyright © 2021 The News Hawk. Designed by NINCHI Services Limited.

You cannot copy content of ...sorry about that